# STONEGATE COMMUNITY ASSOCIATION 2015 ANNUAL HOMEOWNERS MEETING STONEGATE COMMUNITY CENTER 11551 E. MOUNTAIN VIEW ROAD, SCOTTSDALE, ARIZONA MARCH 26, 2015

### APPROVED MINUTES

**PRESENT:** Edward Katz, President

Don Levitt, Vice President Nancy Ford, Treasurer David Allen, Secretary

Jean-Claude Moreau, Director

Leroy Rhein, Director Cary Weissman, Director

**STAFF:** Larry Paprocki, Executive Director

Dolly Singh, Officer Manager

Catherine Bryson, Communications Coordinator Stephanie Castiglia, Administrative Assistant

ALSO

**PRESENT:** Stonegate homeowners

#### **WELCOME & INTRODUCTION**

President Katz called the 2015 Annual Homeowners Meeting to order and thanked the homeowners for their attendance at the meeting. He introduced the Board Members.

President Katz introduced the Community Association Staff.

# **QUORUM REQUIREMENT**

The first item of business was verification of the quorum requirement. President Katz advised that the Quorum Requirement has been fulfilled, as  $1/10^{th}$  of the membership is present, or has already voted, which are at least 92 members. As such, this is a proper and duly called meeting.

#### **APPROVAL OF THE 2014 MINUTES**

Mr. Chuck Kaufman moved to waive the reading of the 2014 minutes, (furnished to all in attendance) and called for approval as presented. Seconded by Mr. Tom Schaefer. The motion passed unanimously.

#### PRESIDENT'S REPORT

President Katz reported he will be leaving the Board after completing his second two-year term. He further reported that he has had the pleasure of being the Board President for the past two years. He acknowledged each Board member for their dedication, time and service to the community. He also acknowledged the committee members stating their planning and input has helped the deliberations of the Board. He stated that his special appreciation goes to our administrative staff. They have kept the daily business of the community functioning in a professional and efficient manner. He further stated that he would particularly like to recognize Joan Cheng, Accounting Manager. She provides the Board with the financial statements that have been praised by our outside Auditing firm. The experience levels of our Board members, committee members and our staff are apparent in the success of our community. He commented that he must give special recognition to our Executive Director, Larry Paprocki. His management of our Association is without equal.

## TREASURER'S REPORT

Ms. Nancy Ford stated that everyone has been sent a copy of the audit balance sheet in the Annual Report. She provided a brief review of the expenditures and income. She advised that there is an operating surplus and it is required for the Board to vote on rolling forward surplus, based on Revenue Ruling 70-604. She further advised that the Association relies on surplus to fund operating expenses in future years and by doing so avoid taxation.

Mr. Tom Schaefer moved the Board approve rolling forward of surplus funds into the next calendar year, 2015, based on Revenue Ruling 70-604 to satisfy the IRS. Seconded by Mr. Chuck Kaufman. The motion passed unanimously.

## SPECIAL RECOGNITION PRESENTATION

Dr. Levitt acknowledged the efforts of the retiring Board President Edward Katz. Dr. Levitt presented the retiring Board President with a recognition award for his service.

## **NOMINATION & CASTING OF BALLOTS**

President Katz introduced the 2015 Board Candidates:

Nancy Ford Tom Schaefer Luc Ducrocq Dr. Leroy Rhein Lori Condon Dr. Levitt introduced the Nomination and Election Committee as follows:

Eugene Evans, Chair Carol Dolohanty Michael Cavanaugh Derek Fromm

## **ELECTION RESULTS & CERTIFICATION**

Dr. Levitt announced the election results of the Board of Directors election and provided certification form for 2015/2016.

Nancy Ford Tom Schaefer Dr. Leroy Rhein Lori Condon

# **ADJOURNMENT**

President Katz thanked everyone for their attendance at the 2015 Annual Homeowners Meeting.

Mr. Tom Schaefer moved to adjourn the Stonegate Community Association Annual Meeting at 7:15 p.m. Seconded by Mr. Chuck Kaufman. The motion passed unanimously.